Tell Me Something Good

So, I’ve spent a lot of time lamenting the state of things. But I don’t want it to be just a pity party over here. I’ve had some really good times working in the plant, met some people I wouldn’t trade for the world. No matter how foolish they might act, or how absurd the scenario. And you wouldn’t know it from the paltry number of comments left on the blog (10 comments vs. 500+ views), but people are reading this. I would really, really like it if today was a day when people actually spoke back. Please tell me the best moment of work that you can recall. For me, there are a bunch. The people I hired in with are almost all gone to other teams or shifts, or wherever. But for a few months, we were like a family. And it was good. So please, tell me something good. There must be a million of those moments out there. Otherwise, what are we all doing here?
<a href="http://” title=”Tell Me Something Good.”>

About Stepchild in the Promised Land: Notes from a Tier-Two Autoworker

A third-generation Detroiter, Wayne State grad, mother and tier-two autoworker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tell Me Something Good

  1. I don’t know if it’s funny or tragic that no one wanted to leave even one good story here. Oh well.

    • canoelac says:

      Hey it’s reality. People are shy. Problem is, with a blog that asks a question like this, you can’t bring out the beer and the chips and the weed to get folks loosened up and get the stories flowing. Takes a little more than a request thrown into the wind.
      Also a good story takes a long time to type if you only do hunt and peck. Who has that kind of time? We have to be at work tomorrow and the kids need attention and a thousand other things. Even my second-best stories take a while to tell if you want the full setting so you get the full impact.
      So on balance it’s tragic but you have to cut people some slack, I say.

  2. Oh, I’m not mad. I understand that people feel self-conscious about writing into the ether. Hell, I feel that way, and I’m writing the damn thing. I wish I could sit down and have a beer with every one of the 600 people who have read this blog and get their good stories and feedback. But I still like to throw out the notion that there are good stories. Even if it just gets people thinking them to themselves.

  3. canoelac says:

    Yes people don’t understand how good their stories sound to others. The stories enlarge our culture but electronic stuff has driven the oral transmission underground it seems.
    I thought you sounded like you were blaming the readers so that is why I reacted. Happy to see your further thoughts.

Leave a comment